2016 Kansas City Worldcon: Academics and Wonderment

I’m one of the organizers for the academic track at MidAmeriCon II, the World Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention in my hometown of Kansas City, MO, in 2016.

We’re looking for many types of presentations, particularly ones that will appeal to Worldcon’s broad range of attendees (fans, academics, writers, and independent scholars). The site has a list of examples for presentations and sessions.  Deadline is January 16th.

The Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction is hosting this track of programming at the con.

On a personal note, I’d like to hear from people interested in the kind of material covered on this site: SF nostalgia, retro-futurism, steampunk, 19th-century SF writers like Mark Twain and Edgar A. Poe, and connections between SF and pop music. If I’ve written about it on You Sell Wonderment, I’m interested!

(Also, since I didn’t mention it here before, I’m really happy the Kansas City Royals won their first World Series since I was in short pants last year.  Happy 2016!)

 

This entry was posted in All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment